Our Country India Questions & Answers

Hi Everyone!! This article will share Our Country India Questions & Answers.

In my previous posts, I have shared the Questions & Answers of Timelines, Animal Reproduction and Movements Of The Earth so, you can check these posts as well.

Our Country India Questions & Answers

Question 1: Fill in the blanks:

(a) The capital of Gujarat is Gandhinagar.
(b) The Andaman and Nicobar Islands lie in the Bay of Bengal.
(c) India is a part of South Asia.
(d) Ranchi is the capital city of Jharkhand.

Question 2: Choose the correct option:

(a) The capital of Arunachal Pradesh is………..

i. Aizawl
ii. Itanagar
iii. Dispur
iv. Kohima

(b) Which of the following is not a neighbouring country of India?

i. China
ii. Afghanistan
ii. China
iv. Tajikistan

(c) Which of the following is the capital of two states as well as a Union Territory?

i. Port Blair
ii. Chandigarh
iii. Daman
iv. Hyderabad

(d) What is the capital of the National Capital Territory?

i. Chandigarh
ii. Delhi
iii. New Delhi
iv. Lucknow

Question 3: Write true or false:

(a) Bhopal is the capital of Madhya Pradesh – True
(b) Delhi is the national capital of our country – True
(c) Rajasthan is an eastern state of India – False
(d) The capital city of Maharashtra is Mumbai – True

Question 4: Match the columns:

Column AColumn B
a. Odishai. Gangtok
b. Meghalayaii. Shillong
c. Goaiii. Thiruvananthapuram
d. Tamil Naduiv. Chennai
e. Sikkimv. Bhubaneshwar
f. Keralavi. Shimla
g. Himachal Pradeshvii. Panaji
Answer: a-v, b-ii, c-vii, d-iv, e-i, f-iii, g-vi

Our Country India Questions & Answers

Question 5: Name the following:

(a) Name any two states that have a joint capital city.

Answer: Haryana, Punjab

(b) What separates Sri Lanka from India?

Answer: The Palk Strait

(c) What is the capital of West Bengal?

Answer: Kolkata

(d) Which state has the capital as Patna?

Answer: Bihar

(e) How many states are there in India?

Answer: Twenty-nine

(f) Where is the state of Chhattisgarh located in India?

Answer: Central India

Question 6: Name the neighbouring island countries of India.

Answer: The neighbouring island countries of India are Maldives and Sri Lanka.

Question 7: Name the islands in India.

Answer: The Lakshadweep Islands located in the Arabian Sea and the Andaman and the Nicobar Islands in the Bay of Bengal are two groups of islands that are also a part of India.

Question 8: List the union territories of India.

Answer: There are nine union territories in India. They are:

Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Lakshadweep Islands, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Diu and Daman, Puducherry, Chandigarh, Ladakh, Jammu and Kashmir and New Delhi.

Question 9: Which countries share their borders with India?

Answer: India shares its borders with countries such as China, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh, Myanmar, Pakistan and Afghanistan.

Question 10: Why are the union territories formed in India?

Answer: As per the Constitution provisions, during independence, the union territories were either not a part of India or they were too small to be made into a state. Further, the state reorganization commission in 1956 recommended generating a different category for these territories named Union Territory.

So, these were Our Country India Questions & Answers.

error: Content is protected !!